The Chocolate Life

Discover Chocolate and Live La Vida Cocoa!

This year the ICA organizers have decided to offer Merit Awards to individuals and organizations who have been given back to the chocolate community.

The 2013 Americas Round Merit Award Recipients are:

Outstanding Service to the Fine Chocolate Industry Award

Gary Guittard, Guittard Chocolate, for unique and generous behind–the–scenes support for fine cacao projects.

Bean to Chocolatier Award

Cynthia Leung and David CastellanSoma Chocolate (Toronto, CA) — for industry–leading integrated bean-to-bar and boutique chocolate retail operations.

Innovative Chocolate Marketing Award

Sunita de Tourreil, Chocolate Garage — for unique and creative support for US craft chocolate makers.

Research Award

Harold Schmitz, Senior Science Officer, Mars, Inc — for unique and creative support for US craft chocolate makers.

Mott Green Memorial Award for Sustainable Cacao Cooperatives

Edmond Brown, Grenada Chocolate Company — the honorary first award recognizes Edmond's work helping create a model that takes cacao farmers beyond a commodity, adding value through producing finished products.

Women in Chocolate Award

Fran Bigelow, Fran's Chocolates (Seattle, WA) — for her work as a veteran chocolatier, leading the way for women working in fine chocolate.

Cacao Quality Award

Rizek Cacao CxA, Dominican Republic — for their outstanding service to cacao quality and post–harvest processing techniques in the Dominican Republic.

Views: 92

Member Marketplace

Promote TheChocolateLife

Bookmark and Share

Follow Clay on:
Twitter :: @DiscoverChoc
F'Book :: TheChocolateLife
F'Book Group :: LaVidaCocoa :: @DiscoverChoc

© 2014   Created by Clay Gordon.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service